President Harris

Dr. Abram W. Harris was president of the University of Maine from 1893 to 1901.

The President Abram W. Harris Award was established by President Harris’ grandson Abram ”Pete” W. Harris III ’50 and his friend Marion Waterman Meyer ’51 and is presented periodically by the Foundation.

President Harris is remembered in the Board of Trustees reports for eight years of service during which the University made rapid, constant progress. He established the founding chapter of Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society.

President Harris left the institution larger, stronger, and in every respect a better university.

Past Recipients of Foundation Awards

2014-80th Anniversary

Debra A. Gervais
Christopher P. Keating
John K. Veroneau
Calen B. Colby
C. Ann Merrifield
Mark “Rookie” Letendre

Feature in Annual Report
News Story

2009–75th Anniversary

Karen M. Baldacci
Lawrence K. Bender
Joline Godfrey
Edward J. Keefe
Patrice M. Krant


Class of 1944


Habib Dagher

2005–Faculty Five

George Jacobson
Stephen Norton
Malcolm Hunter
David Smith
George Markowsky

2004–70th Anniversary

Stephen Wheatland
Raymond H. Fogler
Mark R. Shibles
Vincent A. Hartgen
Alice R. Stewart
Harold Alfond
George Jacobson